Interested in a yogic lifestyle? Consider our Yoga, Service, and Community program, or look at our list of yoga programs.

To register for a program:

Go to the programs calendar and select the program for which you wish to register. Click on the "Register Online Now" button, and follow the instructions.

Yoga Programs at Mount Madonna Center

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga, also known as Raja Yoga, is the scientific method of enlightenment propounded by the ancient sage Patanjali in his Yoga Sutras. It is the Yoga that Baba Hari Dass has practiced since childhood. Since his arrival from India in 1971, Baba Hari Dass has been active in training students and teachers of Yoga in the United States and Canada. Through his compassionate example, young and old alike are learning the gentle art of peace.*

Because there has been much confusion over the past few years regarding the term Ashtanga, we wish to be clear that we do not teach a contemporary method of asana that has come to be known as “Power Yoga” or “Ashtanga”. Though asana (seat, or posture) is but one limb of Ashtanga Yoga and Hatha Yoga, it is often identified as Yoga.

We present the classical Ashtanga Yoga set forth more than 2,000 years ago by Patanjai in the Yoga Sutras. Ashtanga means Eight Limbed (ashta meaning eight, and anga meaning limb).


The eight limbs* are:

  • Restraints (Yama):
    • Nonviolence (Ahimsa)
    • Truthfulness (Satya)
    • Non-Stealing (Asteya)
    • Continence (Bramacharya)
    • Non-Posessiveness (Aparigraha)
  • Observances (Niyama):
    • Purity (Saucha)
    • Contentment (Santosha)
    • Austerity (Tapas)
    • Scriptural Study (Svadhyaya)
    • Surrender to God (Ishvarapranidhana)
    • Posture, Seat (Asana)
    • Breath Control (Pranayama)
    • Withdrawing the Mind from Sense Perception (Pratyahara)
    • Concentration (Dharana)
    • Meditation (Dhyana)
    • Higher Consciousness (Samadhi)


* Ashtanga Yoga Primer © 1981, Sri Rama Publishing, Santa Cruz, CA